Craigavon Historical Society offers these links to these sites for your convenience. These sites are created by historical societies and others who share our passion for local history and conservation. However, we can take no responsibility for content of these sites. Please let us know if any links fail to work.
Ancestry Ireland offers extensive knowledge on the sources available for tracing Irish and Scots-Irish ancestors. Services include online databases of over 2 million records, genealogy and history books, and personal ancestral research.
Although the site of Armagh has been occupied since Neolithic times, the foundation of the city is traditionally associated with St Patrick, in 457 AD. Originally granted land by a local chieftain Daire, in the lower area of Scotch Street, Patrick finally secured the hilltop site where the Church of Ireland Cathedral now stands. This was the site of the great monastery of Armagh, where the Book of Armagh was compiled (807 AD). Located on the Mall near the centre of the city the unique character of the Museum's architecture make it one of the most distinctive buildings in the city and here, under the heading of "Armachiana", you will find collections reflecting the lives of people who have lived and worked in Armagh or have been associated with the county.
Dealing with the history of Fermanagh, Monaghan, South Tyrone, this site includes an updated and fully searchable index to our back issues, an online gallery and bookshop, a dedicated section for smaller heritage groups and a rolling calendar of heritage events in the border area.
Bringing the past into the present. Find out about the history and local heritage of the Craigavon area, the Lough Neagh basin, North Armagh and its surroundings.
Visitor attractions inculde Moneypenny's Lock, the last lock before on the Newry Canal, before the canal joins the River Bann. Eighteen miles in length, the canal extended through a series of locks from Newry to Whitecote Point, 2km south of Portadown.
Formed in 1985 with the objective of collecting and distributing information on all aspects of the history of the Creggan Parish in particular and of South Armagh in general.
Created as a joint project between the Linen Hall Library and the Nerve Centre, culturenorthernireland.org seeks to create an online 'cultural atlas' of Northern Ireland by exploring art and literature, museums and heritage, sport and leisure, flora and fauna, and industry and commerce. The site builds on the knowledge of locally-based contributors and the expertise of the lead partners, and is based around a framework of towns, villages and rural communities throughout Northern Ireland.
Published in 1993 by Kate Newmann. The Dictionary is a natural database for the work of the Ulster History Circle and it has, with the author's and publisher's permission, been placed on the World Wide Web as a resource to the Circle and also to those interested in local and regional history and biography. The Dictionary has been fully indexed and entries are linked where appropriate. There is a location index (not linked to the Dictionary entries) which facilitates a quick search for the names associated with a City or County.
Edenderry is one the oldest and most historic areas of Portadown and at one time was the hub of industry in the town. The Edenderry Community Development Association was formed in March 2004 with the aim of promoting awareness of history, folklore and the cultural heritage of the area.
Formed in 1975 when a small group of local history societies joined forces to establish a province wide network that might better achieve their aim of promoting and preserving our unique historical record. It assists local history groups throughout the province in developing their skills and building knowledge of their locality's past. It has blossomed into one of the largest bodies of its kind and now provides help and advice to just under 100 groups from all parts of the province.
The Federation's aims are as follows:
- To promote the study and recording of the history, antiquities and folk-life of Ulster
- To encourage the provision of the necessary services for the furtherance of those local historical studies in Ulster.
Armagh 1864. The Primary Valuation was the first full-scale valuation of property in Ireland. It was overseen by Richard Griffith and published between 1847 and 1864. It is one of the most important surviving genealogical sources.
A web page by Jane Lyons listing. Some of the journals listed here no longer exist. Some are produced by Historical Societies and others are simply published by enthusiastic local people on an annual basis.
IWAI, founded in 1954, is a voluntary organisation that advocates the use, maintenance, protection, restoration and improvement of the inland waterways of Ireland. Work parties and funds are raised to improve navigations and to restore derelict ones. Current projects include the Ulster Canal, Lagan Navigation, Coalisland Canal, Boyne Navigation and the Kilbeggan and Corbally lines of the Grand Canal.
IWAI is on-line since 1999 and, whether you are a boat enthusiast, historian, archaeologist, or fisherman, you will find something of interest on their web site.
Extracts and illustrations from the Journals of Lisburn Historical Society right back to Vol. 1 in 1978, including an excellent history of The Huguenots of Lisburn with details of many of the Huguenot families including Breakey (de Brequet), Dupre, Gaston and Lilley.
Centred on Downpatrick, County Down, the historic barony that includes Strangford, Saul, Inch, Ardglass, Killough and Dundrum. The Society was established in 1974 and meets regularly in the Down County Museum, one of the foremost local museums in Ireland. The site is illustrated throughout with images of Lecale.
Devoted to help any person trying to trace ancestors from the town of Lurgan or its surrounding areas. As well as being a resource for genealogists and family historians, Lurgan Ancestry will also give an insight, via the records, stories and photos that are included, to what life was like in the Lurgan area throughout the centuries.
The Millennium Court Arts Centre Spring Programme 2004 includes Vidagio by the Motion Monkeys, who will create a multimedia installation of sounds and sights; Peter Richard's photographs are of Craigavon communities and people; Dan Shipsides scaffolding-like platforms will inspire; and local community groups' exhibitions give a showcase for local talent. Verbal Arts events include the launch of Hometown by The ABC Writers Group, the Melting Pot by the Bannside Scribblers, and a series of books by Lagan Press. Helen Brennan will read from The History of Irish Dance alongside dancers and musicians.
The Museum and Martello Tower are located at Millmount in the centre of Drogheda, County Louth, overlooking the historic river Boyne. Drogheda is in an area rich in heritage, dating back over 3,000 years, while the town itself is over 800 years old. Millmount Museum's primary claim to fame is its unique collection of Guild Banners, some over 200 years old - The Weavers, The Carpenters, and The Shoemakers - and this web site has lots of information about the Museum and the vibrant local history scene in the Drogheda area.
In 1998, the Ulster Museum (which includes Armagh County Museum) merged with the Ulster Folk and Transport Museum and the Ulster-American Folk Park to form the National Museums and Galleries of Northern Ireland and, in 2001, the group's new Science Centre, W5, opened.
The Society was formed in 1979 and we now have grown to ten branches in the North of Ireland with hundreds of Associate members across the world. "Our objective is to foster interest in family history with special reference to families who have roots in the North of Ireland and their descendants, wherever they may be."
A superb and varied collection of photgraphs and historical articles with local interest lovingly assembled by retired Portadown photographer Jim Lyttle - artists, choirs and churches, schools, sports and recreation, industry, roses, historic photographic collections and much more are all well represented; the site even has background music.
This web site gives information about the society, photographs from and some historical information about Poyntzpass and the surrounding District. The Society hopes to include a newsletter on their site in the near future.
Public Records Office for Northern Ireland. The Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI) is the official place of deposit for public records in Northern Ireland. PRONI hold millions of documents which relate chiefly, but by no means exclusively, to present-day Northern Ireland. The earliest record dates from 1219, with the main concentration of records covering the period 1600 to the present.
The records fall into three general categories:
- Records of Government Departments which in many cases go back to the early nineteenth century;
- Records of courts of law, local authorities and other non-departmental public bodies;
- Records deposited by private individuals, churches, businesses and institutions.
Sinton Roots in Ireland and Scotland. This site now has seven Sinton family trees. The first one starts with the author's great-great-great-grandfather John Sinton of Cabra, Tandragee, Co. Armagh. The trees include many Sintons born in Ireland prior to 1900. Updates are made as new information becomes available.
A non-profit making organisation that was founded in 1956 to promote interest in Irish history and genealogy, with particular reference to the province of Ulster.
The Ulster Historical Foundation offers a professional genealogical research service. Whether you require a research assessment or a full family history report, they can help you complete your family tree.
An open-air museum in Co Tyrone, Northern Ireland, which tells the story of emigration from Ulster to America in the 18th & 19th centuries and provides visitors with a "living history" experience on its outdoor site. Costumed demonstrators go about their everyday tasks in the traditional manner in authentically furnished Old and New World buildings. The Ship and Dockside Gallery features a full-size reconstruction of an early 19th century sailing ship of the type which carried thousands of emigrants across the Atlantic and a major indoor exhibition "Emigrants" complements the outdoor site. The Centre for Migration Studies can assist those who wish to find out more about emigration history and the way of life of emigrants and settlers.
A small, voluntary, not for profit organisation that places commemorative plaques in public places, in towns and villages all over Northern Ireland, in honour of famous men and women who have contributed to Ulster's history. Plaques are erected with the permission of the owners of the buildings. The Ulster History Circle was formed in the 1980s to fill what was believed to be a gap in the celebration of our history - the kind of history that all can share. The work is entirely voluntary and we have no earning capacity or trust funds of any kind. Unlike similar bodies in the rest of the United Kingdon, who receive generous government grants, we depend on Local Authorities, individuals and businesses to fund individual plaques.
Based at Queens University Belfast, it has as a primary objective the survey of Ulster place-names and it hopes ultimately to publish a series of volumes embodying the results of the Survey.
A site that celebrates the output of the famous Wade factory in Portadown including lots of photographs of its products such as its famous leprechauns. The factory closed in the early 1990s and the society, made up of former Wade employees and Irish Wade enthusiasts, have recorded products of the factory in Watson Street, Edenderry, Portadown, together with stories from ex-employees.
Back to top of page